powered by the Iowa City Press-Citizen & The Des Moines Register
Subscribe via RSS Feed

Norm Parker named AFCA Assistant Coach of the Year

[ 8 ] November 28, 2011 |

From the afca.com website:

The American Football Coaches Association is proud to announce its 2011 Assistant Coach of the Year winners. One assistant coach from the five divisions of college football has been selected for their dedication to their teams and communities.

Each year, staff representatives from NCAA and NAIA football-playing schools are asked to nominate an assistant for consideration. From those nominations, a winner is selected by the AFCA Public Relations Committee. The winners of this award were selected from Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III and the NAIA.

The Assistant Coach of the Year award was first presented in 1997 and was created to honor assistant coaches who excel in community service, commitment to the student-athlete, on-field coaching success and AFCA professional organization involvement.

The 2011 honorees are as follows: Football Bowl Subdivision–Norm Parker, Defensive Coordinator, University of Iowa; Football Championship Subdivision–Jason McEndoo, Offensive Line Coach, Montana State University; Division II–Hank McClung, Offensive Line Coach, University of Central Missouri; Division III–Greg Peterson, Offensive Coordinator, Bethel (Minn.) University; and NAIA–Craig Mullins, Offensive Coordinator & Quarterbacks Coach, Georgetown (Ky.) College.

“Once again, five outstanding assistant coaches have been selected for their dedication, not only to their teams, but to their communities,” said Executive Director Grant Teaff. “Often times, the head coach receives much of the credit for his team’s success, but any head coach is only as good as his assistants. Much of an assistant coach’s work is done behind the scenes. It is our pleasure to bring it to the forefront.”

The criteria for the award is not limited to on-field coaching ability or the success of the team and players that these assistant coaches work with. Service to the community through charitable work and other volunteer activities, participation in AFCA activities and events, participation in other professional organizations and impact on student-athletes are all taken into account in the selection process.

Winners of the Assistant Coach of the Year Award will receive a plaque to commemorate the award and an educational stipend to attend the 2013 AFCA Convention or another professional development clinic/convention of their choice. They will be honored at the AstroTurf President’s Kickoff Luncheon, Monday, Jan. 9 at the 2012 AFCA Convention in San Antonio, Texas.

The Winner

Football Bowl Subdivision

Norm Parker, Defensive Coordinator, Iowa: Parker has been coaching football for 46 years, the last 13 at Iowa … Parker has helped with many Special Olympic events in Iowa, and also participated in charitable events for Goodwill Industries and the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation … Parker is chairman of the Mayor’s Youth Annual “Festival Event,” which takes places on the first Saturday in May in Iowa City … Parker has coached 38 players who have gone on to play in the NFL, and was rated the No. 1 defensive coordinator by Rivals.com in 2009 … Under Parker’s direction, the Iowa defense has been ranked among the Top 10 in the nation in rushing defense five times, and was ranked in the Top 10 in scoring defense in each of the last three seasons (2008-10) … Parker’s defense finished fifth nationally in total defense in 2010, allowing 332.1 yards per game.


Tags: ,

Category: Iowa Hawkeyes Football

About Hawk Central: Hawk Central is a joint operation of the Iowa City Press-Citizen and The Des Moines Register, with offices in Iowa City. Contact us at online@press-citizen.com. View author profile.

Comments closed