powered by the Iowa City Press-Citizen & The Des Moines Register
Subscribe via RSS Feed

Chris Street Award winners together at halftime recognition

[ 0 ] January 19, 2013 |

IOWA CITY, Ia. — Wade Lookingbill won the first Chris Street Award in 1993, months after the Hawkeyes’ standout junior forward died in an automobile accident.

Lookingill and the other winners of the award, presented to a “Hawkeye player who best exemplifies the spirit, enthusiasm and intensity of Chris Street,” were recognized at halftime of Saturday’s game with Wisconsin.

A video tribute to Street was also shown Saturday, the 20th anniversar

y of Street’s passing.

“This was Chris’ type of game,” Lookingbill said. “This is where he would have shined.”

Other winners on hand were three-time winner Jess Settles, Jim Bartels, Jason Bauer, Ryan Luehrsmann, Duez Henderson, Jeff Horner and Adam Haluska. Retired trainer, John Streif, another winner, was also recognized.

“This brings back a lot of memories,” Lookingbill said. “A few tears of sadness. But overall, a great night.”


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Iowa Hawkeyes men's basketball

About Rick Brown: Rick Brown covers men's basketball for The Des Moines Register and Hawk Central. He's married and the father of two. He also covers golf for the Register. View author profile.

Comments closed