powered by the Iowa City Press-Citizen & The Des Moines Register
Subscribe via RSS Feed

Big Ten releases 2016-17 football schedules

[ 0 ] July 11, 2013 |

The Big Ten Conference released its 2016-17 football schedules Thursday morning, and for Iowa it’s a mixed bag.

In 2016, the Hawkeyes’ divisional crossover games are at Rutgers, at Penn State and home against Michigan.

Things get (much) tougher in 2017, when Iowa’s crossover opponents are Michigan State (road), Ohio State (home) and Penn State (home). In other words, no Rutgers, no Maryland and no Indiana in 2017.

The 2016 schedule marks the first nine-game conference format after years of eight-game league slates in Big Ten. That nine-game setup also creates a home-and-road imbalance, one that the Hawkeyes will be on the wrong side of in 2016 (with five road games). In 2017, of course, that means five Big Ten games at Kinnick Stadium.

But 2017 looks to be the first brutal slate for the Hawkeyes following the Big Ten’s expansion to 14 teams (with the addition of Maryland and Rutgers) starting with the 2014 season.

Iowa’s crossover opponents in 2014 and 2015 are Maryland and Indiana.


Oct. 1 — Northwestern

Oct. 8 — at Minnesota

Oct. 15 — at Purdue

Oct. 22 — Wisconsin

Oct. 29 — at Rutgers

Nov. 5 — at Penn State

Nov. 12 — Michigan

Nov. 19 — at Illinois

Nov. 25 — Nebraska


Sept. 30 — at Michigan State

Oct. 7 — Illinois

Oct. 14 — Penn State

Oct. 21 — at Northwestern

Oct. 28 — Minnesota

Nov. 4 — Ohio State

Nov. 11 — at Wisconsin

Nov. 18 — Purdue

Nov. 24 — at Nebraska

Read more later at HawkCentral.com from the Register’s Andrew Logue. For more details now, here is the conference’s official announcement.

Park Ridge, Ill. – The Big Ten announced the conference schedules for the 2016 and 2017 football seasons today, featuring nine-game slates for every Big Ten program for the first time since 1984. The 2016 season gets underway on Oct. 1 in advance of the Big Ten Football Championship Game, slated for Dec. 3. The 2017 season will open on Sept. 2 and conclude with the Big Ten Football Championship Game on Dec. 2. The full 2016 and 2017 conference schedules are attached.

The 2016 season marks the return of a nine-game conference schedule, as teams from the East Division will host five conference home games during even-numbered years, while teams from the West Division will host five conference home games during odd-numbered years. As a result of the nine-game conference schedule and the Big Ten’s schedule rotation, every student-athlete will have the opportunity to play against every other team in the conference at least once during a four-year period. The Big Ten is returning to a nine-game conference schedule for all teams for the first time since the 1983 and 1984 seasons.

Beginning in 2014, the Big Ten football division alignments will feature Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers in the East Division and Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin in the West Division. Each school will play the other six schools in its division plus two teams from the other division in 2014 and 2015, which will serve as transitional years in which the schools will still be playing eight-game schedules. Beginning in 2016, each school will play three teams from the other division as part of its nine-game schedule. The cross-division games will include one protected matchup on an annual basis between Indiana and Purdue.

The Big Ten will hold the 2013 Football Media Days and 42nd annual Kickoff Luncheon on Wednesday and Thursday, July 24 and 25, at the Hilton Chicago, featuring all 12 head coaches and some of the nation’s top returning players. The 118th season of Big Ten football kicks off Thursday, August 29, and culminates with the third annual Big Ten Football Championship Game on Saturday, Dec. 7, to be played at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis and televised by FOX. The winner of the title game will earn the Big Ten Championship and a chance to play in either the Rose Bowl Game or Bowl Championship Series National Championship Game.

Here is the 2016 Big Ten schedule:

Here is the 2017 Big Ten schedule:

Category: Hawkeye news, Iowa Hawkeyes Football

About Andrew Logue: Andrew has been with the Des Moines Register for 19 years, covering everything from preps to Hawkeye and Cyclone sports, as well as the Drake Relays. View author profile.

Comments closed