powered by the Iowa City Press-Citizen & The Des Moines Register
Subscribe via RSS Feed

Nine Hawkeyes named to new Kinnick Stadium Wall of Honor

[ 0 ] August 20, 2013 |

Nine of Iowa football’s most prolific athletes will be recognized with the creation of the Kinnick Stadium Wall of Honor, the University of Iowa announced Tuesday in a news release.

Each of the nine Hawkeyes will have their name and jersey numbers displayed on the lowest ribbon near the letters of the press box. The numbers match the jersey number each player wore in his senior season.

The inaugural members are: Aubrey Devine (1), Randy Duncan (25), Calvin Jones (62), Alex Karras (77), Nile Kinnick (24), Gordon Locke (1), Chuck Long (16), Duke Slater (15), and Larry Station (36).

According to the release, to be considered for inclusion on the wall of honor, players must be a member of the UI Varsity Club Hall of Fame and meet one of the following three criteria:

— Member of both the National Football Foundation College Football Hall of Fame and the Helms Athletic Foundation Hall of Fame (the latter organization is no longer active)

— Member of one of the two above mentioned nationally recognized halls of fame and a consensus All-American

— A two-time consensus All-American

The three living members on the wall of honor — Duncan, Long, and Station — will be recognized before Iowa’s season opener against Northern Illinois on Aug. 31.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Big Ten, Iowa Hawkeyes Football

About Hawk Central: Hawk Central is a joint operation of the Iowa City Press-Citizen and The Des Moines Register, with offices in Iowa City. Contact us at online@press-citizen.com. View author profile.

Comments closed