powered by the Iowa City Press-Citizen & The Des Moines Register
Subscribe via RSS Feed

Five new players on Hawkeyes’ Leadership Group

[ 0 ] April 28, 2014 |

Twelve members of the Iowa football team have been named to the 2014 Leadership Group, coach Kirk Ferentz said today.

The group formulates policies and takes part in decision-making matters for the following season. The group is selected by a team vote.

Seven members – quarterbacks C.J. Beathard and Jake Rudock, offensive linemen Austin Blythe, Brandon Scherff and Ryan Ward, defensive back Jordan Lomax and running back Mark Weisman – are repeat members.

They are joined by five new faces – linebackers Quinton Alston and Josey Jewell, defensive linemen Carl Davis and Louis Trinca-Pasat and offensive lineman Sean Welsh. Jewell and Welsh are the only (redshirt) freshmen in the group.

Last season’s leadership group was 15 players. Returning starters Kevonte Martin-Manley and Drew Ott were in the leadership group in 2013 but not this year.

“Our entire team, by class, has done an outstanding job of naming quality representatives to this group,” Ferentz said. “I look forward to visiting and working with this group in the coming weeks and throughout next season. Their leadership plays an important role in our program’s success.”

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Iowa Hawkeyes Football

About Rick Brown: Rick Brown covers men's basketball for The Des Moines Register and Hawk Central. He's married and the father of two. He also covers golf for the Register. View author profile.

Comments closed